Day 215 – Forest Walk

The New Forest is a vast place to explore and though I have lived here since I was 5, I never really explored the area fully and I until recently I would never have risked going off on a long walk on my own and feel confident that I could map read myself back to the car, but since I lost weight and took up running and discovered photography I am much more aware of my surroundings and am able to enjoy them more. Today I enjoyed a lovely 8km walk with my photo buddies and only met 4 people to speak too… it was lovely.

A gateway in the Forest - the countryside code declares that you should leave gates as you find them... so this one was left open, but normally you should shut all the gates in the New Forest.
A gateway in the Forest – the countryside code declares that you should leave gates as you find them… so this one was left open, but normally you should shut all the gates in the New Forest.
A tree in the New Forest
A tree in the New Forest
New Forest pond with the sky reflected in it, near Wilverly Plain
New Forest pond with the sky reflected in it, near Wilverly Plain
A pathway in the New Forest National Park waiting for you to explore
A pathway in the New Forest National Park waiting for you to explore
New Forest ponies
New Forest ponies
New Forest pony grazing in the bracken
New Forest pony grazing in the bracken
A distant roe deer
A distant roe deer
A roe deer amongst the ferns
A roe deer amongst the ferns
New Forest pathway
New Forest pathway
A roe deer by a forest gate
A roe deer by a forest gate
A roe Deer amongst the trees
A roe Deer amongst the trees
New Forest ponies grazing in the New Forest
New Forest ponies grazing in the New Forest
Heather in the New Forest
Heather in the New Forest
Wilverly Plain in the morning sunshine
Wilverly Plain in the morning sunshine
People walking on Wilverly Plain
People walking on Wilverly Plain

I felt really honored to be able to spot a Roe Deer, and to be able to enjoy this amazing open face – it is amazing how brown the grass is at the moment due to the lack of rain, after a few days away – coming home to the New Forest makes me realise how lucky I am to live in such a great location

One thought on “Day 215 – Forest Walk

Comments are closed.