Day 221 – Brighton Beach

Last Monday at camera club we had a fantastic speaker, Tony Worobiec who came along, showed and talked about taking photographs on the British Coast. It was a lovely evening and it was really inspiring as he showed various photos and I recognised the places having been there myself or was on my list of places to visit. It was a refreshing and a priveldge to hear someone talk about the amazing coastline of Britain and Wales, he had traveled a lot – but nothing in his opinion was as interesting to photograph as the British coastline and I agree.

I found myself nodding in agreement as he talked about how we see images other people have taken, and how we can never recreate them as we may never stand in the exact same spot, but more importantly the light would not be the same – it is forever changing, particularly at the coast.

Highlights from the talk included

  • Taking photos at dawn and dusk – the blue hour and the golden hour are the best times. Sometimes just after sunset the sky can be at its best
  • Look the the details as well as the bigger picture
  • Overcast and wet days can be the best for taking seaside pictures as they create a wonderful mood
  • Monochrome can work really well if the image does not have many tones.
  • Changing shutter speed can create a completely different feel to the image.

I enjoyed the talk so much I decided to purchase his book – The Coast – which included a variety of the locations that I would love to photo and will no doubt inspire future visits to the coast, including some more local ones which I hade not considered before today.

Anyway … I found myself in a blustery Brighton and I created my view of the coast.

A typical Brighton Image
A typical Brighton Image
The modern Brighton Pier
The modern Brighton Pier

Inspired by the composition post last week – there was a sculpture on the sea front, so I capture my impression of it.

PhotoChallenge-Brighton-3102-6

I them focused on the old pier that Brighton is known for, it was interesting because currently they have started work in Brighton on the world’s tallest observation platform the i360, so the coastline is changing more – the build has started but as it continues the skyline will change again, in addition – the pier is always being battered by weather, waves and tide and you don’t know for sure how long it will remain.

The Old Pier from the beach
The Old Pier from the beach
LifeGuard closing up for the day
Lifeguard closing up for the day
The changing light on the old pier
The changing light on the old pier
The old Pier and some people for scale
The old Pier and some people for scale
The old pier and the start of the new build - a lamdscape of contrast
The old pier and the start of the new build – a lamdscape of contrast
One thought on “Day 221 – Brighton Beach

Comments are closed.