Day 222 – Spinnaker Tower at Night

The Spinnaker Tower at Portsmouth is an icon image on the British South Coast, however the best place to capture it is from the other side of the water on sea front near the Gosport Ferry terminal, as that was you get the refelections and lights of Portsmouth reflected back at you from over the water.

I have been meaning to capture the tower for a while and the evening I choose it was glowing up red, one and blue – alternatively, so it was great to be able to move along the walk way and capture it in a variety of lights. I also experimented with how high I could push the ISO for a great image.

ISO200, 25sec, F14, White spinnaker tower and moving boats
ISO200, 25sec, F14, White spinnaker tower and moving boats
ISO1600, F5, 1/15sec - White Spinnaker tower
ISO1600, F5, 1/15sec – White Spinnaker tower
Red Spinnaker Tower, ISO400, F5.6, 2sec
Red Spinnaker Tower, ISO400, F5.6, 2sec
ISO400, f13. 15secs - Spinnaker Tower in Pink
ISO400, f13. 15secs – Spinnaker Tower in Pink
Purple Spinnaker Tower, ISO400, F13, 8 secs
Purple Spinnaker Tower, ISO400, F13, 8 secs
Red Spinnaker Tower, ISO1600, F8, 1.6secs
Red Spinnaker Tower, ISO1600, F8, 1.6secs

There was much more clarity in the photos at the higher f stop, and more detail in the lights as there is more depth of field, but then the movement of the boats becomes more apparent and you loose some of the texture in the water, as the shutter speed has to be longer. Pushing up the ISO to 1600 meant I could be both, freeze movement on the water and have a good depth to the image – and I don’t really think the noise is apparent. It was interesting though how the changing colour of the tower effected how much light there was around, and some colours enabled more detail to show.

Playtime…

I then on the way home set up my camera on the tripod inside the car and tried a 30 sec shutter speed photo whilst driving to see if I could capture the lights from a moving car – they composition was not right, but it was worth trying.

Overhead motorway lights - F22, 30 secs, ISO200
Overhead motorway lights – F22, 30 secs, ISO200
Through the windcreen -  F22, 30 secs, ISO200
Through the windcreen – F22, 30 secs, ISO200
F22, 30 secs, ISO200 - The motorway in the dark
F22, 30 secs, ISO200 – The motorway in the dark

The results were totally luck driven, you never knew what would happen in the next 30 secs and it is just a question of whether you like and appreciate the end result or not. Personally I prefer the Spinnaker Tower compositions from the evenings photo shoot.

4 thoughts on “Day 222 – Spinnaker Tower at Night

  1. Your pictures are insanely fantastic! I appreciate you posting the “settings” you use for these as well! Do you mind me asking what kind of camera you’re using? Thank you!

    Like

    1. Hi.
      The first 6 months on my 365 I used a Canon 60D, since Jly on the whole I have been using a Canon 7D markII. I love the new camera, although I still have lots to learn about what it can do.

      Lens wise, I also updated at the same time to a Canon 28-300mm Lens, It is really heavy but it is true the quality of the glass can really make a difference to your images … this is my favorite lens, although I use others…

      But in all honesty, the best camera is the one you have with you when the light and opportunity is right.

      Like

Comments are closed.