Day 237 – A photo meet at the Beach

One of the facebook photography groups I belong to suggested a meet up at a local beach to take some photos. This would push me out of my comfort zone as I would have to meet and mix with photographers that I did not know, but would give me the chance to get to know other local photographers – so when contacted by Sue one of the other photographers regarding sharing lifts (I had not met her before) – I thought why not …

I discovered I am not the only photographer who is reluctant to step outside my comfort zone, as although 226 people were invited along, 6 people replied they were going for sure – there was only the two of us, however that did not mean we could not experiment, talk about photography, find out about each other and have fun.

Silhoutte Experiments - ISO800, F13, 1/640 sec - 17-70mm lens
Silhouette Experiments – ISO800, F13, 1/640 sec – 17-70mm lens
Pointing Up - Black and white Edit. F13, 1/160 sec, ISO800
Pointing Up – Black and white Edit. F13, 1/160 sec, ISO800

Chatting to Sue she told me about a workshop that she went on at the coast where the photographer had suggested turned the images into black and white if the light was not as interesting as you wanted it to be, as it can really highlight the textures and mood of the location. I used that to influence how I edited the first few pictures that I created.

I did wish that I had took a neutral density filter with me to slow the movement of the sea down, but I did not – I could have slowed it slightly by using ISO 100, but I actually like the breaking waves and the movement shown.

Looking at the Dolphins - Black and white Edit. ISO100, F4, 1/800 sec
Looking at the Dolphins – Black and white Edit. ISO100, F4, 1/800 sec

I like the person in this one – he is looking out to the “Dolphins” as they are know locally – they were originally put of an old pier structure which were used during the DDay landings, by using lots of space, the vast sky and getting down low, and using black and white makes you think about the past … to reflect back on the past when it would have been a bustling location … now it just remnants of the past.

Sue - Silhoutte Image - ISO100, F22, !/25sec
Sue – Silhouette Image – ISO100, F22, !/25sec

This is Sue – photographers are often behind the camera and not in front of it. She was looking out towards the dolphins and with the light behind her and her tripod – I thought it made a great silhouette.

Silhoutee of the evening sky. F20, 1/80 sec, ISO100
Silhouette of the evening sky. F20, 1/80 sec, ISO100

Another Silhouette – this time I was low down on the beach and looked behind me and there was a person reading the information sign and the clouds banking up overhead. I just liked it.

The evening sun reflected on the dolphins. F20, 1/30sec, ISO100
The evening sun reflected on the dolphins. F20, 1/30sec, ISO100

The evening sun on the Dolphins helps bring out all the textures in the wood. The sailing boat close to the Isle of Wight in the background reflected the sunlight back perfectly.

It's behing you - looking into sun. F22, 1/60sec, ISO100
It’s behind you – looking into sun. F22, 1/60sec, ISO100

Into sun and you have lots of sunglare reflected on the lens – but it is amazing how just for a moment the sun can transfer water into liquid gold.

Evening Silhoutte - F25, 1/80 sec, ISO800
Evening Silhouette – F25, 1/80 sec, ISO800

Another Silhouette, shooting into sun the trees on the headland make really interesting shapes, although there was not much of a sunset.

Wire Wool - ISO100, F14, 10 secs
Triptych of some wire wool images

I then introduce Sue to wire wool photography – it was a little bit light to start with … but with a 10 or 15 sec shutter speed – and at around F8 (I suggested to Sue – but I used F22) – we were able to create our own wire wool images. I wanted to experiment with the size of the aperture – and a smaller aperture lets less light in (see my first attempt) … so next time I am going to wait till it is a bit darker, use a wider aperture or add an ND filter. I think she enjoyed having a go.

Lepe was a lovely beach to take photos on – but it worth noting that they do lock the carpark at night… we had to move the car otherwise we would have been locked in, and with the Dolphins being a 2km walk from the carpark…. and the fact they sometimes lock up early … you can easily loose track of time!

One thought on “Day 237 – A photo meet at the Beach

Comments are closed.