Day 242 – Grey Skies

I had hoped to photograph hang gliders on the cliff top with the sea in the background, but after a morning gardening I was greeted with grey skies and the hang gliders had gone home… instead I was left with the most boring skies – they were totally full of one big hazy cloud and were acting as a giant light box. I decided instead to take some photos of the sea – it is amazing how different the water looks on an overcast day.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/500sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/500sec

It wasn’t quite that grey … I have turned it into a monochrome image in Lightroom – but the sea had no character today, the skies no texture and it barely looks like a photo at all. The one yacht on the horizon at half sale looks lonely and alone, it is quite a depressing feel to today’s photos I think.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/500sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/500sec

Looking towards the Needles and there is such a contrast between the image I took on day 240 – the white cliffs soak up the light, the details are hidden … there is a totally different feel. When someone asks you what settings you used to take that image … does it matter, not when the light is so different – but images tell a totally different story.

ISO320, F11, 1/400sec
ISO320, F11, 1/400sec

Playing around with the contrast, two boats sailed in shot, but the sailors look cold, huddled together. This is the height of British summer, it is August bank holiday weekend … and yet this photo tells a totally different story!

ISO320, F11, 1/500sec
ISO320, F11, 1/500sec

Altering the yacht in Light room to increase the exposure, to brighten the sea and to lighten the image – I have managed to create an image I like and that I could imagine on someone’s wall. this one feel timeless, I feel it could be a much happier brighter day and I feel it is a timeless image that you would look up at on your office wall in the depth of winter and remember the good times of summer, and they say the camera never lies…. I think it can really stretch the truth!

