Day 245 – The start of Fungi Season

I checked here, and I know how far into the year I am.

The New Forest is known for its vast collection of fungi. This site catalogs over 450 different varieties of fungi. I started noticing it a year or so a go through my photography, and already I have been on the look our for it this year. Fungi loves the damp undergrowth of the New Forest and after a very wet bank holiday weekend, I thought I would have a look and see if the fungi has started to grow.

After rain was a great time to take photos, the fungi was often damp and there for looked shiny and inviting. I headed out today with just my Sigma 17-70mm 1:2.8-4 Macro HSM lens, and got close to nature.

Forest fungi - F4.5, ISO500, 1/100sec
Forest fungi – F4.5, ISO500, 1/100sec

Above and below – “the Common Earthball or Scleroderma citrinum”. It is interesting to see how different backgrounds effect the feel of the image. Backgrounds are so important when taking these images – the clutter can be really distracting, but I don’t believe in picking them … but leaving them for others to enjoy. Foraging for fungi has become increasing popular, but unfortunately is can provide long term damage to the woodland as the spores are taken away. Within the New Forest there is guidance on what is and what is not allowed.

Fungi - ISO100, F4.5, 1/50sec
Fungi – ISO100, F4.5, 1/50sec
New Forest Fungi - ISO3200, F5.6, 1/125sec
New Forest Fungi – ISO3200, F5.6, 1/125sec

Above you have a cluster of fungi growing altogether, you can tell they are small but the texture of the moss growing nearby. The colours compliment each other really well – although I have no idea what it is called.

Below – it is lovely to see the texture of the underside of the fungi, but the grassy background is too distracting and the angle of the fungi makes them look damaged – an angle that needs to be worked.

New Forest Fungi - ISO2500, F5.6, 1/125sec
New Forest Fungi – ISO2500, F5.6, 1/125sec

This is my favorite photo that I took today .. I like the bokeh in the background through the trees, the sense of scale that comes across, and how the shallow depth of field has added to the scale. I also like how you can see both the inside and the outside of the fungi at the same time. I think this might be: Birch Night – Tricholoma fulvum.

ISO1250, F6.3, 1/80sec
ISO1250, F6.3, 1/80sec

This photos (below) was not taken in the woodland, but later in the day near the coast. I had a different lens on my camera – my 28-300mm lens – and although it is a great lens it was not ideal for the subject .. but I have included it hear to highlight the importance of a great lens choice.

ISO100, 28-300mm lens, 90mm zoon, F5.6, 1/320sec
ISO100, 28-300mm lens, 90mm zoon, F5.6, 1/320sec

If you want to find out more about New Forest Fungi – The Hampshire Foraging group and New Forest Activities are hosting some guided walks looking for fungi in the coming weeks. I hope to get out in the forest and find some more interesting images to share with you.

i then took the above image and some of the textures from yesterday to create a new image in photoshop adding a background, some texture(from slate, brick and paper) and a border with a paint brush. Personally I prefer the natural shot, but it is important to practice and embrace different skills.

ISO1250, F6.3, 1/80sec - Edited with texture layers and a border added
ISO1250, F6.3, 1/80sec – Edited with texture layers and a border added
