Day 246 – A reluctant model

Today I was out on location with a reluctant model, she did not want me to take any photos that identified who she was, but I wanted to take the opportunity to have a go at photographing her when she was not aware I was taking pictures, and I wanted to see how my position effected the end feel of the photo.

It was a chance to consider how my position as a photographer effected the end image.

ISO100, F5.46, 1/500 sec
ISO100, F5.46, 1/500 sec

I was stood up on a raise embankment looking down on my mode, whilst she played with the photo buddies. The background is nice and simple, the angle makes the model look small, but there is no real sense of scale other than the dogs. The model is looking up and to the right in the photo and you are left wondering what she is looking at.

ISO100, F9, 1/250sec
ISO100, F9, 1/250sec

Here she crouched down low to watch the birds, the path leads you out of the picture – and again you cant really see the birds she was watching – they are just out the shot … you are also left wondering what the story is behind the picture – where are you suppose to foucs your eye, and curious about what the photographer is trying to say.

ISO400, F9, 1/400sec
ISO400, F9, 1/400sec

Zooming in and you can see the subject of the image, you can see that something has caught their attention and you can clearly see what the subject is – this highlights to me that if you want to take an image of the scenery – shooting wide is great … but if the focus is suppose to be the model/person – then it is important that they are the most dominant part of the image.

I crouched lower and zoomed in to get the shot.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/1250sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/1250sec

An action shot, to capture a person moving it is important to shoot first if you want to capture the details in wind blown hair and the idea that the person is moving – with the first foot just off of the ground you can tell she is walking. The interaction this time is with the model looking at the dog, and with his head partly turned – you get the feeling they are interacting with each other. You are though left wondering what the reflection is on the water … backgrounds are an essential part of location portraits.

This time I am just further back on the beach and on a similar height terrain.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/1250 sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/1250 sec

I am higher than the model again… here I have frozen the movement, but she looks tiny compared to the environment that she is in – her feet are also too close to the edge of the frame. But she echos the markers in the water which leads you through the picture and back again. Not really one for an album though!

ISO100, F5.6, 1/400sec
ISO100, F5.6, 1/400sec

My final image – I liked the muted tones of this one, I think the photo is almost symmetrical –  the colours on the model reflect the colours of the dogs and the photo balances.  It looks natural and relaxed and tells a story of a relationship between the three of them, although this would be enhanced if the Border Collie was making eye contact with the model.

Position wise, as the photographer I got low t the ground – croushing so the Golden Retriever on the bank is higher than me.

This was a great activity – it is harder than you think to take photos of someone without showing their character and the interaction you have with them – which is an important part of telling the story, it was also interesting to highlight that the subject should fill the frame, the image should tell a story, and it should somehow create an interaction or reaction in the viewer.

One thought on “Day 246 – A reluctant model

Comments are closed.