Day 276 – The Rose Bowl Southampton

When you visit an interesting location and have camera with you – it is a great idea to capture the moment. I am not a cricketer – I have never attended a cricket match and have no desire to watch a game or visit a stadium – until today … ad being able to get inside and be the only person there was pretty special.

I had no idea that it was so huge, so open and so bright.

My first urge was to capture the size of the venue – the scale, so I knew I had to try and take a panorama – I know that using the camera in portrait mode works best for this, so I hand held my camera, set the exposure, shutter speed and depth of field in manual, set the focus distance and careully took 12 images from left to right. I brought them home and merged them in lightroom – and it was a disaster … the shots did not line up…

Instead of giving up, I tried to export the image again – this time into Photoshop to see if it could merge the images together better … and I was delighted with this shot. What an amazing location! I captured the whole of the rose ball in one image and it was a huge stadium.

ISO100, F8, 1/320 sec - 12 exposures
ISO100, F8, 1/320 sec – 12 exposures

I then took the opportunity to look round the stadium and capture it from different angles. I loved how the buildings and the seating performed leading lines in the stadium ad the sitting inviting you in to watch the game.

ISO100, F9, 1/250sec
ISO100, F9, 1/250sec

Your eye naturally follows the curve to h cricket pitch round with everything flowing round in the curve.

ISO100, F9, 1/320 sec
ISO100, F9, 1/320 sec

I tried to imagine what it would be like to sit and watch a game …  I am sure there would be more heads in front of me if I was watching.. but as sat lee you get a real sense of the scale and you realise how far away the cricketers would be.

ISO100, F9, 1/200 sec
ISO100, F9, 1/200 sec

I decided to walk round and look at the score board – it is huge – and I was able to stand right underneath it – I am sure a cricket fan would have been delighted!

ISO100, F10, 1/250sec
ISO100, F10, 1/250sec

Looking back towards the way I had walked in – there are curves everywhere, the seats are curved, the shadows form a curve, the building curves in the background.

ISO100, F9, 1/200 sec
ISO100, F9, 1/200 sec

I thought about my composition when I choose my shots and in this one I filled the frame with one colour and a repeating pattern –  there is one part of the image where the chair is not quite right – and I like that as it leaves you trying to work out why….

ISO100, F9, /250sec
ISO100, F9, /250sec

There were other parts of the building that were interesting too – the stairs against the blue sky.

ISo100, F8, 1/160sec
ISo100, F8, 1/160sec

Looking straight up between the buildings creates a completely different image – and amazingly there are still curves!

ISO100, F8, 1/160sec
ISO100, F8, 1/160sec

I felt really privileged to be in such a wonderful location, and to have avoided all the crowds – it was so nice to enjoy the building for itself not for the game it contains.

