Day 280 – Extreme Lighting and Different Camera

Tuesday evening I got to see “The Shires” in concert, it was a small venue, a fantastic gig and I was tempted to take photos – however I did not have a camera with me – so I borrowed my husband’s Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ20 and had a go… trying to learn a new camera in the dark is impossible.

PhotoChallenge-The Shires-1130247-Edit-8

The above image – my favorite shot is The Shire’s drum taken at the end of the concert converted into balck and white in lightroom and a copy of the evening’s playlist. I asked for it at the end of the gig and was lucky enough to have it handed to me.

I tried to take various photos during the gig – I had hoped to get the camera to work with me as It does have dials for Aperture and shutter… but in the dark I had no idea other than to turn the dial how to adjust the settings….  I asked for advice and was told – I just use the “iA” function – which I am guessing it like the green button on my camera….

Panaonic - ISO1600, 1/15sec, F4.7
Panasonic – ISO1600, 1/15sec, F4.7

It was so frustrating not to have any control over anything – I wanted to zoom in more but with the camera choosing the ISO I knew it would be too grainy. The stage lights were not under my control – but it was interesting to note that they were pointed away from the black background so that it stayed dark yet at the same time behind the artists so they were lit by neutral toned lights at the front.

ISO800, F4.3, 1/10 sec
ISO800, F4.3, 1/10 sec

The light was changing and adding atmosphere – some colours brighter than others on the sensor –  This shot has showcases the band and the audience – but I was unable to control where the camera was focusing too – it had a touch sensitive screen – and if I touched it to focus it would take a photo too quickly and if I have pressed the shutter to focus the camera choose the focal point.

ISO800, F4.1, 1/13sec
ISO800, F4.1, 1/13sec

I like how the 1/13 second shutter speed gives you a slight feeling of movement – it was a live gig, and I love the smoke detail in the lights, and how the audience is lit with blue highlights at the front and dark behind – due to the lighting … but ad jpg images, although I tried to recover some of the details in Lightroom it was really tricky.

ISO1000, F5.3, 1/8 sec
ISO1000, F5.3, 1/8 sec

Zooming in on the detail – really made me think about timing –  I wish the guitar player was not facing away, I am glad that Ben on the keyboard is not blocked by the Mike but I wish he was making eye contact.  I know what would make the photo better, and yes there are limitations in the fact I don’t know the camera but there are limitations in the subject too… and it is about making the most of the opportunity.

ISO800, F4.7, 1/10sec
ISO800, F4.7, 1/10sec

The lights change and the image has a different feel, and a different set of restrictions to work with,

ISO800m F3.5, 1/15sec
ISO800m F3.5, 1/15sec

I love this shot – I am pleased with the camera’s choice of depth of field – wide apertures work well in dark settings. I also like the fact that I capture two phone recording the concert – the one in the near ground – a selfie at the concert… the one further back video the whole performance – I really wonder if he enjoyed any of it.

ISO1250, F3.8, 1/15sec
ISO1250, F3.8, 1/15sec

My final shot – an artistic view … I pre focused the camera on the floor by have pressing the shutter button and took  the photo of just the lights in blur. The essence of concert …

