Day 288 – Autumn in Photoshop

Yesterday I went looking for signs of Autumn in the hedgerows today i experimented with one photo to see if I could create an  Autumn feel to an image. The photo below is taken straight out of camera, it was taken at ISO800, F10, 1/80sec – I was in some shady woodland in the forest and my focal point was the gate – it would have been ideal if I had a couple of walkers to include… but today it was not to be.

Straight out of camera
Straight out of camera

My first step was to edited in Lightroom so that I was happy with the image, and ready to work on it. This involved a slight crop, adjusting the shadows, boosting the colours slightly until I had developed an image I was pleased with. I would normaly stop at that point and upload it.

A simple edit in Lightroom to create a starting image
A simple edit in Lightroom to create a starting image

But today i decided first to convert it into balck and white and see what it looked like. There is a lots of black in the image, and lots of shades inbetween – I like how the gate stands out more distinctively against the light background but it needs something more.

Black and white
Black and white

I took the 2nd image I created into photoshop with the idea of creating an Autumn feel to the photos – I found a tutorial on selecting colours and enhancing them – which you can watch here and I was amazed at how much I could adjust the orginal image including adding lens flare on the gate where it meets the light.

Autumn Created in Photoshop
Autumn Created in Photoshop

I them took that image back into Lightroom and finished my editing process, adding a vignetting  and just adjusting the black and whites slightly. it is amazing to see what can be accomplished from one image.

Autumn Created in Photoshop and then tweaked in Lightroom
Autumn Created in Photoshop and then tweaked in Lightroom

I then thought I would edited it further again in photoshop to change the feel of the image and I added a textured overlay. The differences are not extreme – but it now has a totally different feel and texture to the original image.

edited in photoshop with filters
edited in photoshop with filters
