Day 300 – A different view, a different beach

I wanted to try a comparison shot with the nd filters and with a polarising filter today … so aimed to go prepared and I also watched to capture the beach, some coastal interesting shooting wide. Busy morning planned – I also got to enjoy an 11k walk with hubby and the photo buddies.

Straight out of camera - F13, 1/6sec ISO200,
Straight out of camera – F13, 1/6sec ISO200,

First image above – straight out of camera, I choose to include the stones and beach for foreground interest. I had the camera on the tripod and choose I mid range aperture focusing on the marker.

CPL filter - ISO200, F13, 1/20 sec
CPL filter – ISO200, F13, 1/20 sec

I added a cokin cpl filter and it increased the shutter speed by 1 and 2/3 stops – and made the sky bluer.

ISO100, F13, 0.8sec - ND8 grdatuated filter
ISO100, F13, 0.8sec – ND8 graduated filter

I kept the CPL filter on and used the cheap ND* graduated filter I got off ebay on the water with the intention of leaving the sky unaffected and blurring the water. this reduced the shutter speed by 2 1/3 stops from the photo above,  however you can clearly see the colour hue on the beach. There is a problem with these. I want to know now whether there is a problem with all “cokin” filters … and want to sample one to compare.

The old boat - ISO800, F8, 1/320sec
The old boat – ISO800, F8, 1/320sec

I then saw this boat, and tried to capture it nice and close to the camera (now without filters and handheld) to make the most of the wide angle lens.  I think by turning it into black and wall the image has a timeless feel, but I think viewing it as I blog – it needs a touch more contrast

Mdeford Quay - Different view - ISO800, F11, 1/200sec
Mudeford Quay – Different view – ISO800, F11, 1/200sec

This is a view of Mudeford Quay that I rarely see, from the other side – it is amazing how quickly the water rushes through the channel.  This is more of a record shot.

Blue boat - ISO800, F11, 1/160sec
Blue boat – ISO800, F11, 1/160sec
Different angle - ISO800, F11, 1/250sec
Different angle – ISO800, F11, 1/250sec

Another boat – again I thought to capture it wide, leaving some space for the landscape around it and I thought I would experiment from different view points. The light today was very overcast – which was great for producing only the softest of shadows and interesting texture in the sky.

Lobster pot - black and white - ISo800, F6.3, 1/500sec
Lobster pot – black and white – ISo800, F6.3, 1/500sec

Another black and white – this time a lobster pot on the shore, with the wide angle lens you can get in close to objects and yet route them into the surroundings – this seems in my opinion to work really well with coastal shots.

Red boat, ISO800, F10, 1/320sec
Red boat, ISO800, F10, 1/320sec

One more boat – then I put my camera away to enjoy the walk … I just loved how the red boat grabbed my attention, how it anchors the image and how the leading line of the boats and the shoreline draw your eye through the picture so you see the couple entertaining their dog!

Hubby then suggested we stop for lunch – who is to object… another great use for a wide angle lens as I did not have to leave my seat to share with you my bacon and brie baguette, and hubby’s BLT – the lunch at Hiker cafe was lovely – although they did warn you about leaving your food unattended ….

Lunch - ISO800, F5.6, 1/1000sec
Lunch – ISO800, F5.6, 1/1000sec

The reason to always have your camera at hand – my 300th post celebratory lunch was almost stolen by this friendly Starling – thank goodness it was a wide angle lens or I would have missed this shot … luckily I had eaten my share by then!

Thief :) - ISO800, F5.6, 1/640 sec
Thief 🙂 – ISO800, F5.6, 1/640 sec
One thought on “Day 300 – A different view, a different beach

Comments are closed.