Day 304 – Happy Halloween

A quick play in the garden with pumpkins lit by candle light, manual mode on my wide angle lens, a splash of smoke and some coloured gels, a sparkler…. to wish you a Happy Halloween!

Straight out of camera
Straight out of camera

I started shooting with a wide aperture – F7.1, and a 3.2sec exposure on ISO100, to capture the ambient light of the pumpkins. I was surprised to see how much detail was reflected in the slate tiles that the pumpkins were sat on, so I choose to make the aperture narrower so I could record more of the texture, which meant as a consequence I had to increase the shutter duration.

Added smoke and green gel flash
Added smoke and green gel flash

I added smoke, and the flash behind on a 1/16 exposure. Flash outside is hard to control… it blows everywhere, but it adds a great texture to the image.

More Smoke and green gel
More Smoke and green gel

More smoke and the background looks very spooky.

Blue Gel flash
Blue Gel flash

Changing the colour gel on the flash creates a totally different feel – I have used gels before – in this set up with the pumpkin when I used an orange gel and here when I experimented with a variety of colours  – they do work really well with smoke!

Blue gel and unsatuated the orange!
Blue gel and unsaturated the orange!

Here I kept the blue but removed the orange colour from the image in lightroom, just to see how it changed the mood of the photo.

No smoke ... but added a sparker
No smoke … but added a sparker

A sparkler adds a lot more light to the image and flicks up sparks like the wire wool – my first attempt the sparkler was behind the pumpkins and they don’t really interact.

Sparkler, Blue Gel Flash and smoke
Sparkler, Blue Gel Flash and smoke

Waving the sparkler round in a spiral though adds depth with smoke behind and a blue flash… it is interesting what effects you can achieve, my final image below I added a couple of textures and experimented with different blending modes in Photoshop to create an image with a different feel. Happy Halloween!

With text and textures added in Lightroom
With text and textures added in Lightroom
