Day 305 – Experimenting with Bokeh

With dark evenings approaching and some lights up outside to celebrate Halloween, I wanted to see if I could create shaped Bokeh. I watched this video online and then I made my own lens cap to give it a try. The video did not detail what camera settings so I had to work that out for myself and I added up working in manual so that  I could have a go.

My top tips would be –

  • 50 mm lens
  • Wide aperture as possible
  • Shutter speed fast enough to avoid camera blur
  • Avoid focusing on the lights
First Attempt - ISO100, F1.8, 1/10sec
First Attempt – ISO100, F1.8, 1/10sec

As you can see some of the lights were pumpkins others small LED’s – the LED’s worked best, I then experimented with focusing distances and making sure that I kept the lights out of focus. On some of the shots I also played around with the white balance of the image and the hues in lightroom to see if I could create a different effect.

One of the other things I have been reading up on in a photography for bloggers course, was how to create a collage style image in the print module in Lightroom – print can not only be used to print images but to create jpgs, so you can easily customize images with watermarks, and design them to fit different social media platforms!

Bokeh collage created in Lightroom.
Bokeh collage created in Lightroom.
One thought on “Day 305 – Experimenting with Bokeh

Comments are closed.