Day 307 – Misty in the Forest so dehaze in action

It was misty out on the forest today… so I tried to create some moody shots and I wanted to experiment a little with the dehaze function again. Today I took my 28-300mm lens out, and as well as being heavier I need to be a lot more aware of what distance I can focus at it respect to the relevant shutter speed – so that my images are still crisp.

Taken in the forest today - misty today.
Taken in the forest today – misty today.

I took this photo partly because the fact that there were three figures to make the shot interesting, and partly becuase my eye was drawn to her pink body warmer – the power of red – and that in turn picked up the pink colour in the heather.

Dehaze tool brings back details - ISO160, F8, 1/50sec
Dehaze tool brings back details – ISO160, F8, 1/50sec

Taken into Lightroom and I choose to do a fairly heavy edit with the dehaze too, and it is amazing how much detail can be brought back into the shot and how the colours can be saturated more. I think it is a little too satuated but I wanted to show how different you could edit the image.

Misty woodland monochrome - ISO100, F5.6, 1/400sec
Misty woodland monochrome – ISO100, F5.6, 1/400sec

With a zoom lens the landscape is compressed and I loved how the tree on the foreground stood out from the hazy hills behind – the sky lack detail… but I think it works as it shows the tones reducing as you go further back in the image/

Misty woodland dehaze applied and green with adding saturation - ISO100, F5.6, 1/400sec
Misty woodland dehaze applied and green with adding saturation – ISO100, F5.6, 1/400sec

The same image in colour with the dehaze tool – the dehaze struggles with the layers on the scenery and still leaves a white haze this time – so sometimes it can rescue as image, sometimes I can’t – so you have to adapt the image instead.

I was also out in the forest with the photo buddies…. they have not said Hi for a while, so in misty light with the oom lens I wanted to practice my focusing and freezing the action – 1/640 sec with ISO400 worked fine in the misty conditions, and helped produce an image with very little shadow – as of course the misty sky acts as a giant light box!

Photo buddy - ISO400, F5.6, 1/640sec
Photo buddy – ISO400, F5.6, 1/640sec
Photobuddy, ISO400, F5.6, 1/640sec
Photobuddy, ISO400, F5.6, 1/640sec
