Day 326 – Boudoir – part two

Yesterday I shared a behind the scenes look at a boudoir session, today is some of the edited images that I got from the evening.

ISO100, F5.6, 1/125 sec - using the studio lights
ISO100, F5.6, 1/125 sec – using the studio lights

I had gone along to the session feeling out of my comfort zone but I had some clear ideas in mind and they included:

  • I wanted the photos I created to be mine – to be unique to me, so one way to do this was to add a prop to the images and introduce it in my session time.
  • I wanted to move the lights
  • I researched on  line various “boudoir” style images to decide what kind of thing I liked, as the images would represent me – and I was thinking more along the lines of dark atmospheric images, maybe an element of fun / cheeky/ seduction –  an air of mystery / intrigue.
  • I thought about the fact that the final images from a boudoir session would be something shared privately, maybe in a private album with a loved one or on a bedroom wall – they had to be flattering to the client (model) and be something she would not mind people seeing but not ogling over.

My first image (top) is the model sat on the bed – I liked the black and white feel of the image more than the colour one here – and for me this is a great introduction photo – you have no idea she is in her underwear instead you focus on her smile – the fact that she looks relaxed, the kind of thing I think is important.

Through the net - ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec
Through the net – ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec

This image was taken through the net curtains on the bed – you are drawn through the curtains to the model, but at the same time it is all a little mysterious – there is a barrier between you almost like you are watching and she does not know you are there.

The settings were such that there was no ambient light in the white studio, and instead you only see what had been lit by very low powered strobes.

ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec - shallow angles
ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec – shallow angles

This is the model lying down on the bed, I wanted a nice shallow angle, I wish the sheets were darker as I feel they reflected more light back up than I wanted. I was using a wide lens so I could work close … and I think next time I would like to try a few shots a bit further back as I feel her head is almost distorted here.

Another festive look 0 ISo200, F5.6, 1/125sec
A festive look – ISo200, F5.6, 1/125sec

It is November, nearly Christmas – and with her red teddy, an elf hat (my own prop) adds a sense fun and adventure to the image – what better Christmas present to a loved one than his very own elf to unwrap on Christmas day! Francesca was a great sport! It is just a shame the background was not quite right – but I could edit this so more.

A black and white shot - ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec
A black and white shot – ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec

You can create a whole different feel with an outfit change – Francesca brought along several. The drapes around the bed were also changed at this point, which provided a much better background and were a whole lot less distracting, I wish I had thought of this to start – something to look out for on another shoot.

Hidden identity - ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec
Hidden identity – ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec

Another prop – this time a sense of mystery and you are really drawn into her eyes, and the kind of thing I am happy to use with a client to help get them comfortable with the idea.

Intrigue - ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec
Intrigue – ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec

This one has a very dark and moody but I like how the eyes stare right at you, maybe she is looking into your soul almost vulnerable?

The mask - ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec
The mask – ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec

A profile photo maybe for a social media platform – again the mask draws you into the eyes, it was so important to make sure they were sharp and had catch lights in them.

My final image from the session – although there are a few more on my web site – you are welcome to take a look. This one is with a santa hat cause it matched her teddy and created an great Christmas feel to the image – I then edited it in photoshop and added some snow … another twist on a Christmas gift!

Festive photo - ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec and with some work in photoshop
Festive photo – ISO200, F5.6, 1/125sec and with some work in photoshop

Where to go next … I would love some pointers of posing techniques and resources to look at … any suggestions?

 

 

