Day 331 – Smoke

If I want to get more creative I really need some backgrounds and textures … so one of those things that I have been putting off doing is photographing smoke … so that is today’s challenge.

I had a search online – can recommend reading this web site – how to photograph smoke and I experimented in the kitchen. I fashioned a snood out of black sugar paper to direct the flash and to stop it hitting the black card back board and I it really is amazing….

PhotoChallenge-Smoke-1-1
A selection of smoke images as capture
PhotoChallenge-Smoke-2-2
Smoke as Captured
PhotoChallenge-Smoke-3-3
Smoke as captured

I then took the images a step further and edited some of my favorite smoke effects in photoshop … they are all unique and beautiful.

PhotoChallenge-smoke-4908-Edit-1
Colours inverted in photoshop
PhotoChallenge-smoke-4945-Edit-2
Layer of pink and white applied
PhotoChallenge-smoke-4948-Edit-3
Colours inverted and then toned
PhotoChallenge-smoke-4952-Edit-4
Multi Colour rainbow added in photoshop
PhotoChallenge-smoke-5014-Edit-5
A different colour added in photoshop
PhotoChallenge-smoke-5058-Edit-6
Just a simple invert in photoshop

Smoke patterns are great fun! I am now going to have to think of ways to use these in some creative pieces.

4 thoughts on “Day 331 – Smoke

Comments are closed.