Day 332 – New Forest Wander

A wander in the New Forest with my canon 24-70mm lens on my crop sensor camera. The 24-70mm lens from what I have read online is an ideal walk around lens on a full frame camera – but for me it has a focal range 38.4mm- 112mm.

I have noticed recently that I am not using this lens enough – I now have four favorite lens, and this is number 4… so today I put on my camera and went to explore, with the idea I would capture some Autumn landscapes.

Wilverly View
Wilverly view in November in the New Forest

ISO800 was chosen today as the skies were overcast and I wanted to make sure I had fast enough shutter speed for my lens, above I used F8 and 1/200sec focusing on the heather in the foreground. I liked the muted tones of the heather and  the blue misty background in comparison to the gorse – which brings sunshine to the heathland in winter.

View from Wilvery
The New Forest Skies

This photo totally breaks the rule of thirds, putting the trees on the horizon so close to the bottom of the frame – but I just loved the texture in the sky. ISO800, F8, 1/200sec

New Forest
View from Wilverly walk

The winding path through the heather caught my eye and leads you through the image. ISO800, F8, 1/800 sec – not a person in sight and it makes me realise how lucky I am to have this location on my doorstep – I don’t think I will ever tire of it!

Forest Stream
A stream in the New Forest National Park

I got down low to fill the frame with the forest steam – the water in the forest is often very dark. ISO800, F9, 1/250sec.

Autumn in the New Forest
Autumn view in the New Forest woods.

Autumn seems to have passed through the New Forest quickly this year, there are lots of leaves down now and bare trees. ISO800, F9, 1/160sec

What is your favorite place to explore?

