Day 345 – Flash in practice

I had a visitor pop it today… I was not set up for studio images but I took the opportunity to practice some of the speedlight skills that I have pick up over the last few days.

Camera was in manual, the speedlight was attached to the camera but in a diffuser to soften the light and I experimented with my new knowledge.

ISO1600, F6.3, 1/80 sec - Flash
ISO1600, F6.3, 1/80 sec – Flash

I love the catch lights in Freddie’s eyes, the window is to the right of him, the kitchen lights are on and I am able to move to use the flash as a fill light and add interest to his eyes. Freddie is seriously on the move, so it is essential that I can control the light from where I am to get the shot….

ISO1600, F6.3, 1/80 sec - Flash
ISO1600, F6.3, 1/80 sec – Flash

I need to try and get lower – but I ran out of room…. with a 1/80sec shutter speed you can see movement on Freddie’s fingers, but the flash freezes he movement too.

ISO800, F6.3, 1/160 sec - Flash
ISO800, F6.3, 1/160 sec – Flash

Decreasing the ISO and increasing the shutter speed reduced the amount of ambient light and the background is much darker – the flash power stayed the same.  I was just experimenting based on what I have learnt recently.

PhotoChallenge-Freddie-6506-4
ISO800, F4, 1/50 sec

Keeping the ISO the same, but making the aperture a tiny bit wider and slowing down the shutter speed lets in a lot more light – the backgound looks really yellow here and the brightness of it is distracting.

ISO800, F4, 1/250 sec - Flash
ISO800, F4, 1/250 sec – Flash

Problem solved – this time – by increasing the shutter speed so I let less light in. Freddie was kind enough to sit still for a bit and explore the treasure basket of interesting objects…..

ISO1600, F4.5, 1/250 sec - Flash
ISO1600, F4.5, 1/250 sec – Flash

Whether I zoomed out or zoomed in, the TTL on the flash was able to adjust appropriate – I love the clarity of his highs and it is much easier to work off tripod with the flash as a fill light to get the shot I have in mind, especially with models this young.

Finally a behind the scenes shot from this shoot – multi-tasking women! My model, being entertained by my photography assistant whilst his mum cuts hair … I bounced the soften flash off the ceiling, the window behind separates the girls from the background, the 1/250 sec shutter speed freezes the moment.

ISO200, F4.5, 1/250 sec - Flash
ISO200, F4.5, 1/250 sec – Flash

I am really pleased with this images with just one speedlight working on camera….  and all in manual too!

One thought on “Day 345 – Flash in practice

Comments are closed.