Day 348 – Festive Selfie

Christmas is approaching quicker than I would like but as the Christmas tree is now up, it was time to take a Christmas selfie… I saw a great tutorial online using a Christmas tree and thought I would try and create similar….

I had my camera, a darken lounge lit only by the Christmas tree, my tripod, nifty 50 lens.

PhotoChallenge-christmas-6799-1
Bokeh

Having white Christmas Tree lights makes rather boring Bokeh! My idea was to add me to the image – so focusing the camera in the dark was to be a challenge, I had the idea that I wanted to include a story book and me … so I used the book to hold my iphone, and used the light on my phone to light up my face….

PhotoChallenge-christmas-6820-2
Landscape Image

In landscape – I was not really including enough of the book…. as I could not move the camera back any further… it was time to compose the shot on a different direction….

PhotoChallenge-christmas-6826-4
Portrait view

The torch light is not as bright – but it was the shot that I was going for… the rest of the image I had visualised in my head in photoshop… I took this is manual – ISO100, F1.8, 1/10sec. There are two different shades of light though – a yellow tint from the Iphone and bright white from the LED Christmas Lights.

I toned down the yellow on my face, added some Christmas magic coming from the book and presented it in a square format as I wanted it as a social media profile photo. The light is a little harsh still on my face … but it is the right idea and I would love to take a photo like this with a child reading a book by the Christmas tree.

PhotoChallenge-christmas-6826-1
Christmas Profile photo with photoshop edit.

I have since found another tutorial – pop over to here:

