Day 354 – Photo Buddy’s Model Mayhem

My photo buddy got to be in the lime light during the study session, with a variety of flash and strobe lights the idea was to capture the essence of 1 year old Sparky.

One on the things I wanted to do was to capture him in action… this is the moment he has his eye on the ball and he has just leaped for it. The flash has frozen the hair on this head as it has moved and the provided catch lights in his eyes. It was have been a stronger composition with both eyes… but then he would have been jumping towards the camera.

Action - ISO200, F2.8, 1/250sec
Action – ISO200, F2.8, 1/250sec
My buddy loves playing balloon, he is very gentle with them and likes to tap them in the air … the infinity wall was great at bouncing them back. I love how you can see how much attention he is paying to the balloon choosing the moment to leap!

Balloon Games - F4.5, 1/250sec, ISO400
Balloon Games – F4.5, 1/250sec, ISO400
It was great fun capturing my photo buddy at play… and then to add the shots together in photoshot to  tell the story …

Border Collis in Action
Border Collie in Action
I  wanted to capture some detail shots for his facebook page – some simple Border Collie headshots – it was important to use an aperture that was deep enough to get his eye and his nose in focus.

Border Collie - ISO400, F6.3, 1/250sec
Border Collie – ISO400, F6.3, 1/250sec
I also wanted to try some low key shots … the above were taken with speed lights – below I used studio lights and instead of lighting the background – tried to keep the light off the background just lighting the subject … and it creates a whole different feel.

Low Key Bos Houndrder Collie - ISo200, F4.5, 1/100sec
Low Key Border Collie – ISo200, F4.5, 1/100sec
Then I had some fun with family portraits – this is his Dad … holding a Border Collie in your arms is no easy task… I think the aperture was too shallow and although my hubby’s eyes are sharp, the collies are not. I do however like the relaxed look on my hubby’s face and thing the lighting is great here … there was a light to the left behind and one to right in front…. both softened and nice and close.

Hubby and Puppy! ISO200, F4.5, 1/250 sec
Hubby and Puppy! ISO200, F4.5, 1/250 sec
It was then my turn… I handed the camera over to hubby… I never realised how heavy my Border Collie was.. I found it easiest to hold him over my shoulder – I blend into the background with my dark top, and hubby focused really well on his eyes, and he has such a “feel sorry for me” expression…

ISo200, F4.5, 1/250sec - my puppy!
ISo200, F4.5, 1/250sec – my puppy!
So much to take in… the most important one was happy owners, relaxed owners – happy and relaxed pets… and listen to them… when they have had enough, there is no more “one more photo” they need a break!

2 thoughts on “Day 354 – Photo Buddy’s Model Mayhem

  1. No Pictures Helen – I liked the others

    Our Bench – Discover three wonderful accessible self catering holiday cottages in the New Forest. Little Bench, Bench Cottage and new for 2013 – Garden Bench.
    For latest vacancies and details visit – http://www.ourbench.co.uk

    Awarded the Best Accessible Accommodation by Disabled Motoring UK
    “The recommended destination for guests with Mobility Difficulties” – by the Mail on Sunday

    Like

Comments are closed.