Year Two (11) – New Forest Landscapes

I often photograph the New Forest, I rarely get up early to photograph the forest, but I joined up with three photographers from the Old Bakery group to visit the Northern Commons area of the New Forest.  Today the weather was not perfect, but that did not mean there was not a photograph to be had, despite the light being rather flat!

PhotoChallenge-20160201-North-0438-1
The view across the Northern Commons – spot the car trails!

I discovered a lot this morning… I took a tripod, my heavy tripod and I was a frustrated photographer ….  the other photographers were composing shots, using there grad filters to direct the light where they wanted it – and my filters (ebay cheap ones) just don’t cut the mustard – my nd filter is great but the others – well they are impossible to use so I have photographers envy!

I know what I wanted to include in my photo, for example in this long exposure low light shot above, I waited till the car was driving along the road so I could include the car lights as a light trail in the photo to create a great leading line, but to me I just have never really explored the forest with just my camera – I have always had the dogs or a friend in tow and the object of my visit has been to take photos but to explore the area, exercise and discover what is round the next corner….

PhotoChallenge-20160201-North-0452-2
Nd Filter to slow down the flow of the water.

This is another long exposure shot… I did use the tripod, I got lower than I would have usually done … my heavier tripod feels more sturdy to do this but I know of pretty spots of water in the New Forest … so I am influenced by that … the cloudy sky at this point also included some unwanted reflections so I would have liked to be able to use a polarising filter alongside the nd filter, but I couldn’t!

PhotoChallenge-20160201-North-0534-3
A landscape of the New Forest in portrait format

One of the photographers suggested we should all take a landscape photo in portrait format – so I did. I liked how the tree stumps led you into the photo and towards the tree in the distance, I liked the fact there were an odd number, but I really want to alter the angle of the 5th one to make my line better! This would be a lovely shot to capture if the heather is vibrant and in flower – so I guess I should come again!

PhotoChallenge-20160201-North-0536-4
A silhouette on a tree

This is an old tree which made a great silhouette against the landscape – it was interesting that the colours in the sky were not really that visible to the naked eye, but if you stopped the camera right down to pull out all the detail in the sky and timed it right as the sun broke through the cloud and added a little saturation in light room – the mornings was quite magical!

PhotoChallenge-20160201-North-0542-5
A sense of space

Exploring the area and I am reminded the north of the forest is different from the south, and I need to explore more often, by positioning myself low in the heather I was able to create another silhouette – this time with a real sense of scale and open space – a large amount of sky and very little breaking the foreground.

I was now shooting without my tripod, and I felt happier – I was able to move the tripod easier to get my shot – my focusing might not be as accurate as some of the other photographers – maybe I am lazy – but my goal was for a web quality image and it is perfect for that!

My final shot is on the details within the New Forest – Karen was interested in the ivy growing on the trees, and this piece caught my eye – three little leaves among the gnarled up tree, so I decided a close up would be perfect – it is often the details that you miss.. and details are already you when you are exploring – details make great photos!

PhotoChallenge-20160201-North-0576-6
Forest details

Working with other photographers is a great idea – especially when they are willing and keen to share with you some of their processing ideas, and some of their end results – by being in the same place as someone else and seeing what they capture … really makes you think differently about what you look for in your image and you realise for sure that the most patient of photographer often gets a better photo….

