Year Two (34) – Learning your camera

Last night at the Old Bakery we had a go and capturing the moment with drops dripping and glasses smashing … there was only a limited number of people shooting due to the demands of the set up which meant there was a lot more time to talk to each other and to share knowledge … and to my amazement I was asked loads of questions about setting up the flash, and I actually knew a lot more than I thought I did, it was great to hear tonight that one of the newer members thought I was a pro 🙂 Made my evening!

Setting up the shot
Setting up the shot

This evening highlighted to me a lot …knowledge which a year ago I didn’t have…. and now I am glad I have… some of wish I am going to share:

  • Every camera is different, every lens combination is different, someone with a full frame 24-70mm lens will get a very different photo than someone with a crop camera with 100mm lens – they can use the same settings, but they can’t stand in the same place, take the same image with the same results – and the settings they use might not be right for them and the look they want – but they are a great starting point!
  • Camera Manuals, they tell you how to do it, where the settings are and how to turn things on and off. They should be read, dipped into and explored. A great idea is to download a pdf version and save it to your phone so you always have it with you – I used mine last night!
  • I hate to say it the Nikon’s appeared to react fasted than the canon’s – with a sound activated trigger the canon’s could not get the shot – and I am left wanting to know why … so would really appreciate some pointers on how to get the camera to react quicker!
  • The best way to learn is to use your camera, think about your settings, know how to set them… practice changing ISO, Shutter Speed and Aperture in Manual so you know where the buttons are and how works on your model … then practice focusing …  the more familiar you are the easier it is to think creatively to get the look you are after.
  • Ask questions, you can learn from others… people assume you know what you are doing after all your own an amazing camera so you can take amazing pictures, right? It is not the camera that takes the pictures, it is the photographer who knows how to get the best from the available equipment. By asking questions, you learn stuff … you come up with new ideas, better ways of doing things and you reinforce what others know …  which enable them to become a better photographer and more understanding too.

So what did I manage to photograph…

Setting up the shot and then smash!
Setting up the shot and then smash!
PhotoChallenge-20160419-brokenglass-6181-Edit-3
Missed the moment

Capturing the moment was hard becomes the Canon was slow to respond to the trigger … I need to understand my settings more …  but it was essential to remember to leave room for the splash… for the wine to have somewhere to go and that a clean background could make or break the shot.

PhotoChallenge-20160419-brokenglass-6430-Edit-5
Smash – the moment the glasses hit

I only had three goes… the colours in this one made it more striking, but you know instantly it is not wine – however the contrast with a green wine bottle and some red Merlot might work really well.

This time I took the shot a little but further, I cleaned it up, duplicated and mirrored it in photoshop and then added the images together, I was still not happy with the base of the glass on the edge of the shot … so before adding it to my online food gallery, I edited it again. The final version is here.

PhotoChallenge-20160419-brokenglass-6425-Edit-6
After the splash – edited in photoshop
