Year Two (59) – London Transport

A trip to London is a great reason to take a variety of photos of transport – as I live in the countryside, visiting a city location offers lots of challenges, so I decided to take a selection of images based loosely around the transport theme, I was limited to my 24-70mm lens and the lighting conditions of the day.

Waiting at the Station - F11, 1/100sec = ISO100
Waiting at the Station – F11, 1/100sec = ISO100

This is my country station – it is on the mainline and currently undergoing building work – I timed the shot to record the train coming into the station, and to capture the curves of the platform. It is a great record shot as the station continues to evolve.

A different station - the underground - ISO400, F7.1, 1/5sec
A different station – the underground – ISO400, F7.1, 1/5sec

A complete contrast – the underground, dark, quiet (it was the weekend) and a very different feel – but still icon!

London Bikes at the Olympic Park - ISO 400, F11. 1/400sec
London Bikes at the Olympic Park – ISO 400, F11. 1/400sec

The Hire Bikes of London are a very iconic bike and they are everywhere within the city… there are so many photos captured of rows of bikes and this is my version… the cloudy sky helped ensure that I did not have too many shadows!

Racing Car at the event at Olympic Park - ISO400, F10, 1/10sec
Racing Car at the event at Olympic Park – ISO400, F10, 1/10sec

Inside at the event we attended – the set was lit and it was very dark but I was pleased to capture the car – the shutter speed though it really pushing my hand help capabilities!

Another underground station - with a train... ISO 100, F20, 1/10sec
Another underground station – with a train… ISO 100, F20, 1/10sec

Another underground station – but above ground, the first time I had been to West Ham and I slowed the shutter speed to capture the traditional underground train coming into the station, to add a sense of movement.

The Guard near Buckingham Palace - F8, 1/500sec
The Guard near Buckingham Palace – F8, 1/500sec

Sticking to transport – this is the traditional transport around London and there soldiers of horse back were near Buckingham Palace – a quicker shutter speed freezes the movement and we were lucky to be in a crowd free spot!

The tube stattion - ISO800, F20, 1/125sec
The tube station – ISO800, F20, 1/125sec

The iconic sights of London transport for me are the red buses and the underground – the traditions of London, that visitors flock to the capital to see.

Traffic Lights in London with their own message! ISO500, F8, 1/400sec
Traffic Lights in London with their own message! ISO500, F8, 1/400sec

Not so traditional – Trafalgar Square had some very different traffic lights – when green they did not show a green man but instead a variety of images – they were actually there for the London Pride festival, but I only discovered why when I got home. This highlighted to me how details matter… and also how people slowed down to see what the picture was – so great for traffic calming too!

A timeless view of London Eye - F16, 1/250sec. ISO100
A timeless view of London Eye – F16, 1/250sec. ISO100

Everyone captures the London Eye, I converted my image this time to black and white, shot into the sun for the shadows and captured it from the new green space around the base of the Eye!

