Year Two (91) – Testwood Lakes and a glimpse at the past

Hubby suggested going for a walk… 13km later after a lovely walk and a chat, I was pleased to being able to view some lovely photos all taken on my 24-300mm lens. – it was a lovely walk incorporating the River Test and Testwood Lakes wildlife reserve.

The river test - F10, 35mm, 1/250 sec at 35mm
The river test – F10, 35mm, 1/250 sec at 35mm

A photo of 2 halves… I am not sure it works…

Board Walk - ISO800, F11, 1/160sec
Board Walk – ISO800, F11, 1/160sec

So the same photo with a different crop, a spot of cloning and some shadow adjustments and I think it is much more balanced…

PhotoChallenge-20160806-TestwoodLake-5371-Edit-1
Above image with photoshop and lightroom adjustments.

Bright sunlight, a lovely day … and a family enjoying themselves …. I love how the brollie draws the colours from the sky and beach adding something to the image!

Picnic - ISO 640, F16, 1/125sec
Picnic – ISO 640, F16, 1/125sec

It is lovely seeing the old world – this Bronze age house up close, was weathered and sad looking… step back and include the environment and the path and the photo has more of a story.

Bronze age house - ISO800, F11, 1/320 sec, 35mm
Bronze age house – ISO800, F11, 1/320 sec, 35mm

My first dragonfly … someone at my camera club often posts dragon fly pictures … his are amazing … for my first, I am pretty impressed … I wish it was round the other way.. but I actually like the fact that it is on a fence rather than a plant ..  it shows how industrial and man made the world is and how insects have had to adapt.

However I had picked up some great points, a medium to large aperture, depth of field is important  mine’s a touch shallow… shutter speed plays a part and they do actually come back to the same perch … so if you are in the right location and have patience … anything is possible.

Dragonfly - ISO800, F9, 1/800 sec - 300 mm zoom
Dragonfly – ISO800, F9, 1/800 sec – 300 mm zoom

The last time I took photos at Testwood Lake was in 2006 – I search my archives… this was taken on 9th April 2006 on a Samsung Techwin digimax S500 – which was a reasonably priced point and shoot camera…  why I kept the shot I don’t know … it was shot on Auto – ISO50, F3.6, 1/750mm at 10.3 mm focal length…

PhotoChallenge-S5000592-1.jpg
Digimax S500 / Kenox S500 / Digimax Cyber 530 – Taken in 2006

I have no idea why I kept it…

  • The foreground is in focus and the grass is bare, there is only half a bench
  • The interest is the people on the shore whom are out of focus
  • The cars and roof  act as a highlight in the background
  • The angle is boring … too much foreground, but not enough in focus…
  • If I was trying to suggest it was a fun place to visit… it does not inspire me…

However the bushes and shrubs have grown up over the last 10 years, and I think when I look back and can clearly see that my photography has grown up too….

One thought on “Year Two (91) – Testwood Lakes and a glimpse at the past

Comments are closed.