Year Two (95) – Fields of Yellow

I have notice on my wonder thought facebook some of my friends showing photos of sunflowers and thought I would capture some too… and add some sunshine…

In close - ISO200, F3.5, 1/1250 sec
In close – ISO200, F3.5, 1/1250 sec

So I had a go…. and I discovered:

  • I am too short .. for the shot I wanted I needed to be looking down on them, a ladder would have been handy …
  • The heads although all point to the sunshine also twist and turn in the wind
  • The cloudy sky to start was too bland and uninteresting and once the sun came out, the light quite harsh
  • It was hard to get a sense of scale
  • It was hard to find the perfect flower and to compose without cutting flowers in half…
  • My favorite was the detailed shot – but using a tripod, holding the flower still and having a macro lens to hand would have really helped!

The sunflowers were at a local “Pick you Own” spot, and with the bright sunshine shining through the leaves it gave me a great opportunity to highlight the difference light can make – the shot on the left, you can just make out my finger tips which I am using to put the fruit into the shape, on the right the fruit is hit by a ray on sunshine…

There really is a difference… The settings are almost the same … yet in one the Raspberries are much more detailed… showing why it is important to get control of the lights!

