Year Two (121) – Autumn is coming

Autumn in the New Forest, a great time to explore and notice the details… the photo below captured on my 5D mark iii with my nifty 50, is to me a great autumn image, the leaves are just turning, puddles offer reflections, the sun is shining  and the path is inviting you to explore.

photochallenge-20161016-beaulieu-0415-1
Reflections in a puddle

This one was taken on the Canon G7x,the pony snuck up on me when I was trying to capture some small fungi… and then a noise in the distance caught his attention and he turned his head – I just love the sense of scale that you get from using the widest angle of the photo and the catch light in the ponies eye just adds a little more…

photochallenge-20161015-beaulieu-0462-1
New Forest Pony – ISO400, F4.5, 1/200 sec – 8.8mm

Forest fungi, high up on a tree, I love the colours and the textures the camera was able to record and by shooting wide again – you get a great sense of place. By using the wide aperture of the camera, it helps to create separation from the background, and using the touch screen to focus meant I could angle the shot much higher.

photochallenge-20161015-beaulieu-0477-1
New Forest Fungi – ISO200, D2.5, 1/160sec, 9.92mm

More fungi .. what a great clump. This was in direct sunlight which ruined the shot, but by moving my husband so he was able to create shade with his bod I was able to capture a lovely mellow toned image.

There is much more fungi around in the New Forest this year as there has been a ban on picking it.

photochallenge-20161015-beaulieu-0478-1
More fungi – ISO125, F2.8, 1/160sec, 24/45mm zoom

Two different cameras, some lovely autumn images all taken in camera raw … and developed slightly in light room, capturing moments like these remind me that we need to enjoy the local area, capture its uniqueness and share it with others.

