Year Two (124) – Shallow depth of field

I am experimenting today with a shallow depth of field on my 24-70mm lens, natural light to capture the detail and wonder of childhood.

The first image was outside, the light was wrong, but for me it was about capturing the moment.. a full blown paddy on the pavement…. what I find interesting here is the shutter speed at 1/320 sec the arm is still blurred – kids are fast, I shot wide to get the location and I was close to the subject, which has helped the depth of field… I think I need to get closer more often!

renoufdesign-12
A tantrum – ISO320, F9, 1/250sec – 35mm

Inside and still working with natural light – there are two windows and that is it… I choose to shutter priority to take these shots, 1/400 sec – to freeze any movement and an aperture of 3.2 – the widest my lens could go, shooting close to the subject I knew I would have a shallow depth of field…  so I had to focus on the nearest eye…  I put ISO on auto and let the camera make the best choice….

renoufdesign-13
ISO1250, F3.2, 1/400 sec – 70mm

The interaction between child and dog, with the subject slightly further away there is more in focus, but by isolating the subject the image tells a story….

renoufdesign-14
ISO2000, 1/400sec, F3.2 – 70mm

A slightly shallower depth of field and the background really does blur… I love this shot you can image what the little person is watching and how big and daunting the world is…

renoufdesign-15
ISO800, 1/400sec, F2.8 at 41mm

He turned and I got a smile, with boy eyes on camera, my view point had changed slightly and luckily the ISO was able to calculate the change in light so that I still got the shot … a great reason to use the settings in the camera, and the catch lights are created by the window behind me!

renoufdesign-16
ISO 2500, 1/400sec, F2.8, 70mm

Capturing wonder, another shot same settings as above but this time with a lot more light, you can actually see how the subject’s chin even has a rim light from the window

renoufdesign-17
1/400sec, F2.8, ISO3200

It was great to have time to experiment and I now know I need to make more effort to get closer to my subject… I am sure I will with time!

2 thoughts on “Year Two (124) – Shallow depth of field

  1. I think you have it, the less distance between you and your subject and the greater the distance to the background, the better your subject will be isolated. It’s the distance from subject to background to watch.

    Like

Comments are closed.