Sunshine and Teens

Last week I had a photoshoot cancel on me last minute, and I was really disappointed – I had my camera gear sorted, the location planned out and my mind was flowing with creative ideas and then it was not to be as I required a subject.

My teenage daughter came to the rescue and although she does not like me to photograph her she was happy to call a friend who would have loved to be in some shoots, so I took the time to play with my camera with both of them. It was fun, the friend wanted to learn more about modelling and discovered it is not as glamorous as she thought… and my daughter agreed to be in a couple of shots too.

Interestingly both my daughter and I agreed on our favorite image from the shoot – it was her and her friend – the backs of them reaching for the sky, the sky was blown out but it added a lovely airy feel to the image and for both of us it represented happy, carefree sunshine days.

Maria and Beck 9
Happy Days

I have mentioned on several posts, the importance of print – of having a physical photo to remember an event, a memory and a special moment and I decided that I would surprise my daughter with a canvas of this image – I had recently been in contact with Saal Digital and they had offered me a complimentary canvas – so I thought I would surprise my daughter with a treat.

The ordering process with Saal Digital was easy, they will deal direct with clients – and they kept me informed when the image arrived to them and when it was despatched – and despite being based in Germany the canvas arrived securely packed within a week (and this included the Easter break).

The colours matched my edited image well – the yellow’s were bright and vibrant, there was no banding – which is essential if I am recommending a company – the actual wooden frame is made of wood rather than mdf – which means it is less likely to warp, and it had strengtheners to add in the corners – it was also wider than I expected and had tapered edges which added a nice fill to the image.

The client – in this case my daughter, was delighted with the canvas, and she hung it immediately on her bedroom wall. For a teenager I think that is a major score – she was delighted with the surprise.

RenoufDesign--64
Print on my daughters wall.

As a photographer it is definitely a company that I would recommend to my clients – the colours match well with my edit and the quality is great – if a client want to purchase digital files and create their own pictures from those images this would be a great company for them to look at so Saal Digital will be recommended by us in future.

